Week 15 – The One That Really Shouldn’t Be This Easy

I’ve got to admit, after my failure with the Crock Pot Lasagne, I was a little put off and not too keen on dragging out that particular cooking apparatus again to make something that isn’t soup or pulled pork. But I was in an inventive dinner rut, and upon turning to Pinterest this kept calling to me…

slow cooker honey sesame chicken by SixSistersStuff – click through for the Pin and the link

I ignored the “slow cooker” part and just drooled over the picture. That’s what’s so terrible about food Pins – as a rule they all look impossibly delicious. They reel you in with a lickable photo and you are pleasantly surprised if when you click through to find the recipe, you actually have everything on hand to make the vision of awesome you’re suddenly craving.

Such was the case with this honey sesame chicken creation. I even had sesame seeds, thanks spice rack!

sacrifices to the crock pot gods… wait, what’s that couscous doing in there?

It’s dumb, but I was genuinely concerned that I was going to eff up this recipe and be left with a steaming pile of burnt poultry. That damn lasagne was in my head, screwing with my limited culinary mojo, but I was determined. Here are the ingredients, my modifications noted in color:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Salt and pepper
1 cup honey agave nectar
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup diced onion
1/4 cup ketchup
2 tablespoons vegetable oil olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
several handfuls of spinach, no attempt to hide them
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
4 teaspoons cornstarch dissolved in 6 Tablespoons water
Sesame seeds

Awesome thing #1 about this recipe – you don’t need to precook the chicken. Love that.

raw chickeny goodness

Awesome thing #2 about this recipe – you really can cook it in just 1.5 hours. We ate before 7:00 p.m. on a weeknight, and that means success.

Not only was it fast and simple, it was dang good! So good that the kid devoured it, and The Guy I Married bragged about it to coworkers the next day. I know he bragged about it because one of them asked where she could find the recipe on my Pinterest boards. Ultimate success.

nom effing nom

Any dish that meets the picky standards of both Squirrel and TGIM and is this easy to prepare gets immediately imprinted in my brain and inscribed in my recipe book.

And my faith in my crock pot is restored. At least until I ruin something else.

Moral of the Tutorial – For crock pot meals that aren’t soup or pulled pork, don’t bother with all day recipes. A well-crafted recipe cooking on a shorter term can rock your dinner.

Thanks as always for reading along with my Pinventures!

This entry was posted in 52 Weeks of Pinterest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 15 – The One That Really Shouldn’t Be This Easy

  1. This recipe is so good!!

Leave a Reply

