Week 5 – The One With The Fanciest Apple Corer Ever

Like with everything on Pinterest, the picture has to be good to draw you in. There’s no telling what’s one the other side of the click sometimes. Quite often I find a broken link, which is frustrating, or a pin pinned from another pin, which sends me into a click-click-clicking Ring around the Cluster-eff of pin after link-less pin, which is of course equally as frustrating. Sometimes on very special days I’ll find my senses assaulted by color and an animated banner ad explosion on someone else’s blog. But sometimes, I find a nice surprise.

Week 5 –

apple rings

apple rings in pancake batter by Carla on "The Chew" - click through for the Pin and the link

Hey, Carla made these!! Carla was one of my all-time favorite contestants on Top Chef. I rooted for her during her first appearance on the show and during Top Chef All Stars. Richard was a favorite too, so much so that I made it a point for all of us to have lunch at his Flip Burger restaurant in Atlanta when we were visiting there last March. Squirrel had just started digging solid food, and she nommed the hell out of the guacamole on my burger.

Flip! Burger

check out that look of awe

Top Chef used to be one of my guilty TV pleasures, but since the abomination that is Top Chef Texas, in which every Texas stereotype is nauseatingly exploited and the nation’s fourth-largest city with a buttload of locally-owned super-delicious restaurants per capita is conveniently left out of THE ENTIRE SEASON… Top Chef is dead to me. Only a full season of Top Chef Houston will make it up to me, jerks.

But I digress.

The picture is indeed what drew me in with this recipe. Yummy, crispy, doughy apples, fresh off the griddle. That sounded like an easy thing to whip up on a Sunday morning. The fact that it was Carla’s recipe only made me want to try it that much more, and immediately. So this past Sunday I made a treat for myself and squirrel.

The ingredients, with my modifications…

  • 1 Cup Bisquick low-fat generic Kroger Baking Mix
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 Teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice (which is just 1/4 teaspoon each of nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice & ground ginger)
  • Zest of 1/2 Lemon
  • 2 3 Medium Apples pared and cored  sliced

Being without an apple corer to make clean rings, I improvised with a knife.

fancy corer

fancy and affective

The recipe suggests using toothpicks to dip the rings into the batter. I just used a plastic fork. I dipped several at a time, propping them against the side of the bowl to let the excess batter drip down while I worked on cooking them four at a time in my pan.

Result –

aplle ring success

yummy crispy goodness

This recipe made a ton of batter. I could have sliced six apples easily to use it all up, but I just made a few plain pancakes with my leftovers.

I also gave the apple cider syrup Carla calls for a good try. With the only direction from her being “use your own judgement” and no measurements, and having never made syrup before, I’m fairly certain my own judgement was crap because the end result was way too vinegary and had no hint of lemon or cinnamon. But I am of the opinion that these are good even without the apple cider syrup, or any syrup at all.

mmmmm, apples

and Squirrel concurs... times three

I let her have one of the less photogenic apples to taste, and as I was attempting to take a clean picture of the remainder of my stacks of accomplishment, she was patting my leg, mouth hanging open, tongue out, eyes squinting, saying “aaaaah” – a face and sound she only makes in anticipation of more extra yummy noms in her pie hole. Between her morning playing she returned to me three times for more apple rings. I call that a major win.

Reheating them took some figuring out. I do not recommend the microwave – the batter got soggy. What worked best for me was putting them on the rack in our toaster oven. If you don’t have a toaster oven, just spray a griddle with non-stick spray and throw them back on for a quick minute. Crispy and yummy all over again.

Moral of the Tutorial – Carla never disappoints. Consider buying an apple corer to make the process that much faster the next time your very short roommate appears bored with her usual breakfast.

I’m linked up!

This entry was posted in 52 Weeks of Pinterest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 5 – The One With The Fanciest Apple Corer Ever

  1. What a great idea! (And I totally agree about some of the links being never ending…) 🙂

    Thanks for linking up with the #PinterestChallenge!!

Leave a Reply

