Me Gusta | Vol. 1

I’m home from my amazing trip to Argentina! My Pinventures have been on hold since I’ve been out of the country and try to get readjusted to my daily routine, but I will catch up as I can… I actually did one while I was away! It was a hair one – I didn’t even need to pack my glue gun.

In the meantime, I’ve been rolling around an idea in my head… to do a post every once in a while listing things I’m really enjoying right now. There’s lots of stuff I dig, and some of it I think more people should dig. So here’s my first-ever semi-regular list of awesome shizz.

Me gusta RuPaul’s Drag Race

I could probably watch this show every day for the rest of my life and never grow weary of it. Ever. Take the best of Project Runway (creative gay men) and every other reality TV competition show ever (drama drama drama) and roll it around in glitter and latex until it spews glory and joy from your TV. No lie, when Squirrel was teeny tiny, one of few things that would actually catch her attention on TV was RuPaul’s Drag Race and I am convinced it’s because of all the bright colors and glitter. (I should note that the other televised events that caught her attention were basketball, baseball, and football. She is thus far a well-rounded child.)

Drag Race Season 4

And with this year’s addition of the fantasy-football-inspired Fantasy Drag Race on the Logo website – which among other things awards your queen a point if she is bleeped and deducts two points if she cries – there are so many reasons to watch. Despite all the tom-cattiness and furious application of eyeliner, it’s a show with a heart. It’s on every Monday at 8 CST on LOGO – but hurry, there are only four five queens left. (they’re bringing one of them back next Monday, and my money’s on that fish Kenya)

Me gusta no-heat styling

I started my 52 Days of Pinterest with a no-heat style, and since then I’ve been making the technique a regular part of my hair routine. I feel like I’ve come a long way since that first documented attempt, and I love that all I have to do is put my hair in a twist or a bun the night before I want to have a pile of awesome on my head – or even just a few hours before – and I don’t need to plug anything in to make it happen. My favorite way to get waves without heat is to spray my hair damp, put it in a bun all day, then take it down and hairspray it all over before it’s time to party (or see family, whatever). It’s not perfect and it can look a little messy… but I am the very definition of messy and imperfect, so it’s a match made in heaven for me.

Me gusta MFing Wunderkit

I was introduced to Wunderlist as a tool to use at work, where one can create lists of things to do and check off. I quickly translated this list-making into my personal life – groceries, Christmas gifts, craft stuff to buy – and then along came Wunderkit. It takes list making to a whole new level. I have all my lists partitioned now based on project – work, blog, Special Pals, and home. And not only is your life so organized you could scream, you can invite people to these lists and assign them tasks. Honey-do’s just got high tech, baby!

Wunderkit

I have blog posts planned up through week 26, a running idea list for my eventual etsy shop complete with notes on wording and jargon, all of the pet holidays for the year mapped out with blog ideas, and of course I still have my grocery list. It is a digital organizer’s dream come true and it’s free! You should try it out. But do note that it’s still in beta mode so it can get a little wonky.

Me gusta my daughter

I missed this little squirrel muffin while I was away. Her feet outgrew all but one pair of her shoes. Luckily, I have a Freecycle stash of shoes that goes all the way up to size 9.

slide fun

park partyin' with juice breaks

 

wildflowers

enjoying the Texas wildflower season

This entry was posted in Just me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

